mission statement

The purpose of this website is to promote and document my work as a musician and music scholar. For the last few years I have relied on Facebook, but not everyone is on there, and I should present this creative work separately from dog photos, political rants, workplace humor, etc.

I play the bass. I love the instrument and have taken a ridiculous assortment of gigs to develop as an artist and person. Music is my spiritual and physical practice.

I am primarily interested in free jazz/free improvisation/creative music, by which I mean extensions of post-Coltrane jazz, post-Cage composition, some progressive rock and post-punk, and other stuff. This music challenges its practitioners to develop unique voices while interpreting both established styles and new idioms. I’m very lucky to get to play with so many awesome musicians, occasionally including people whose records made me want to play this stuff in the first place.

Leave a Reply

